AIUM - "SonoSlam" 2016



Inaugural Competition - New York City



The first national medical student ultrasound competition sponsored by the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) on March 17th, 2016, was the talk of the Annual Convention. Seventeen teams of 3 students traveled from 12 schools to New York City for a full-day competition. The schools represented were: Eastern Virginia Medical School, Hofstra School of Medicine, Ohio State University, Rocky Vista College of Medicine, St. George's University / Methodist Hospital, University of Connecticut, University of Florida, University of North Carolina, University of Pennsylvania, Wake Forest University, West Virginia School of Medicine, and Yale University. A multidisciplinary national team of 33 faculty (Emergency Medicine, Obstetrics, Radiology, Critical Care, Pulmonology, and Neurology, as well as skilled sonographers) conducted hands-on sessions for the students.

The day was broken into three rounds, with the first round focused on basic physics, anatomy, physiology, and scanning techniques. Round 2 moved to a head-to-head competition style testing clinical applications and simulated procedural skills. The top 2 teams progressed to Round 3, where they demonstrated pathology recognition and then competed in a "scan off" against each other. After a nail-biting conclusion dependent on the very last scan off task, the team from Ohio State University won first prize. They were awarded the Peter Arger Cup in honor of Doctor Arger, a pioneer in imaging and a passionate ultrasound medical educator. The University of Pennsylvania team was awarded second place with Rocky Vista University securing the third place.

The event generated rave reviews from students, faculty, and spectators! "SonoSlam" will be held next year in Orlando Florida during the 2017 AIUM Annual Convention. We hope to see you there!



Dr David Bahner (OSU-Left) and Dr Peter Arger



University of Florida-Gainesville



University of Pennsylvania



Dr Tyler Dschaak from Ohio State University during the musculoskeletal station



Dr Teresa Liu from Harbor-UCLA with the winning team from Ohio State



University of Connecticut



Yale University



Dr Wilma Chan (L) from the University of Pennsylvania with students from Hofstra School of Medicine

Proudly supported by



In-Kind Supporters

HR Pharmaceuticals MedaPhor Parker Laboratories SonoSim